Haitus over.

I am now back from a forced (but much needed) “real life” break. I had to find some time to finish the semester and a documentary I’ve been shooting for work (i.e. money), attend a couple of super fun weddings, reconstitute my pathetic social life, and welcome a new baby!! Life sometimes gets in the way of what I really want to be doing- making movies in the dark without any human contact or distractions. It’s really too bad these distractions are usually fun and important to leading a happy, “healthy” life.

Stepping away from the material is the best thing you can do for your work anyway (that’s what I keep telling myself). Now that I’ve had a chance to catch my breath, I can dive right into the final phases of post production. I haven’t cried tears of misery since shooting. Something doesn’t seem right. It’s time to get back to it.

Bruce and I blocking

Thank you to Gabby Hernandez who has been working as the assistant editor on the film. She spent most of April syncing the sound to the film, a huge job. If anyone is in need of an assistant- I would recommend her highly. It takes a really organized individual to watch each clip, separate, and label everything. It’s time consuming and sometimes really frustrating, especially when the iPhone slate takes 25 finger taps to actually make a noise or the director decides not to slate at all! I am grateful for her patience and for not judging me.

Me, Molly, and Sandy

I’m preparing a cut to bring into Maja Media in downtown Philly where Love Letter will be recording additional sound and mixing later this month. By now I should know better than to think one writes a movie and that’s it, writing’s over. In shooting you see things aren’t working and you change a scene on the spot. In editing you realize you need an extra line here and there to make the scene cut. I’ve been writing throughout the entire process. It did occur to me that maybe this means I’m just not a great writer but I know that cannot possibly be true.

The screening will will take place the 2nd week in August. Any leads to nice, affordable venues, preferably gallery settings with projection capability and seating, please contact me! I am hoping to have the puppets on display along with some photos of the shoots. We have so many amazing photos.

In other news- here is a link to a project I have been collaborating on with my friends and fellow filmmakers Lisa Marie Patzer, Julia Fuller, and Doro Otto. Julia is in Chicago and Doro is in Berlin so we meet via Skype and have different assignments from Lisa Marie, who developed and spawned this monster baby. The project is well underway with principal photography scheduled sometime in Fall/Winter and already has support from the Crane Arts Center who will host A.K.A. Profile Glitch in Spring of 2012.

I’m also moving in a week which is both stressful and exciting at the same time. Some opportunities arose back in my home state of Virginia but alas I’ll be in Philadelphia for awhile it seems. Shooting for Visionary Voices has begun with yours truly on board as camera and general technical assistance and I’ll be teaching Video Production at University of the Arts this Fall. Oh and I want to write my feature and take Spanish classes and go to South America.

I would now like to take a moment to congratulate David Miranda Hardy (sound for Love Letter) and Natasha Ngaiza on the birth of Mia! She was born last night and I cannot wait to subject her to my films, both as actress and as audience. Having babies around is really inspiring. They have such big eyes.

About linseed

I am a video and filmmaker currently residing in Dayton, Ohio.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

